NPP flagbearer race: Kwabena Agyapong, Agyarko, Addai-Nimoh pick up forms

Former General Secretary of the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP), Kwabena Agyei Agyapong, former Energy Minister, Boakye Agyarko have picked up nomination forms to contest in the flagbearer race of the party later this year.

Former MP for Asante Mampong, Francis Addai-Nimoh also picked the forms when the party opened nomination ahead of the electing a flagbearer for the 2024 general election.

His spokesperson, George Obeng Antwi, who went in for the forms, explained that he is hopeful his boss would be the President of Ghana in 2025.

“We just went for the forms for Addai-Nimoh. We are friends of Addai-Nimoh, and we believe that he’s the best person to lead us into the next general elections. What we are saying is that, if the NPP can win the next general elections, it has to be someone who is not part of this administration.

“We are looking for someone who is noble, a person with great nobility, a person with an unblemished character who is respected across the country, who is blameless, with great wisdom and understanding, to lead the party. People tend to have faith and trust in Addai-Nimoh. They see him to be credible, we deal with people all over the country and that is what we get,” Obeng Antwi stated.

By Friday, May 26, 2023, a number of flagbearer hopefuls have had different groups and individuals pick up the forms on their behalf at the NPP’s headquarters in Accra.

Vice President, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia was the first person to pick up his forms, according to Citi News. The documents were picked up on his behalf by a group called the “Bawumia Fun Club”.

The NPP on Friday, May 26, opened nominations for persons seeking to lead the party into the 2024 elections to pick up their nomination forms.

The party in a statement on Thursday indicated that nomination forms shall be obtained from the Office of the General Secretary at the Party Headquarters, Asylum Down, from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm (Monday to Friday).

The party said the nomination process will end on June 26, 2023.

Back to top button
Translate »
%d bloggers like this: